Artist Support Pledge: A Generous Space2, 2022, installation view. Photo: Mark Hinton
Contemporary Exhibitions

Artist Support Pledge
A GENEROUS SPACE2

Following on from the highly successful exhibition ‘A Generous Space’ at Hastings Contemporary, 25 November 2021 – 17 April 2022. The New Art Gallery Walsall will present ‘A Generous Space 2’. Director Stephen Snoddy has selected 50 artists signed up to the Artist Support Pledge and in turn asked each selected artist to select one further artist, to create an exhibition of 100 artworks by 100 artists.


Artists Support Pledge was founded by artist Matthew Burrows in March 2020 as a way of supporting artists struggling financially during the pandemic. Utilising the social media platform Instagram and using the hashtag #artistsupportpledge artists posted works on the platform for a maximum price of £200. Artists and buyers could liaise directly through messages to agree a sale. Every time an artist made £1000 in sales, they pledge to spend £200 buying work from another artist/s. Over the past 18 months Artist Support Pledge has become a global phenomenon and in 2020 it generated an estimated £60 million in sales for artists.

List of artists

A  Matthew Burrows  @matthewburrowsstudio

1   Catherine Knight    @catknightart

2   Harriet White          @harrietwhiteart

3   Tamsin Morse          @Tamsin_morse

4   Nogah Engler          @Nogah Engler

5    Jen Orpin                 @jenorpinpainter

6    Alison Friend          @mcfriendly

7   Suzanne Holtom     @Suzanneholton

8   Chris Kenny             @chriskennt.art

9   Jack Shearing           @JACKSHG

10  Stephen Dunne      @stephendunnestudio

11  Christine Stark         @stark.christine

12  Tony Antrobus         @tonyantrobus27

13  Hannah Maybank    @hannahmaybankartist

14  Clare Wilson             @clarewilson8

15  Jonathan Ridge         @jonridge

16  Neill  Kidgell             @neillkidgell

17  EC                               @ec_ismyname

18  Stephen Buckeridge   @stephenbuckeridge

19  Rachel Addis             @rachaeladdispaints

20 Sam Owen Hull        @samowenhull

21  Carrie Stanley             @carriestanleyartist

22  Fiona Chambers        @fiona.m.chambers

23   Kay Bainbridge          @Kay_bainbridge

24  Rosalind Faram           @rosalindfaram

25  Ptolemy Mann            @ptolemymann.art

26  Francesca Colussi Cramer  @COLUSSICRAMER

27   Jo Melvin                      @Johannamelvin

28   Rod Melvin                  @ROD03INST

29   Matthew Collings       @matthew.collings

30   Matthew Meadows    @brixtonprintshed

31    Gordon Dalton            @gordondalton666

32    Casper White              @Casperwhitecasper

33     Jackie Crooks              @Jackiecrooks.artist

34    Sophia Campbell        @Sophiacampbell.art

35     Anne Lydiat                 @anneonrock

36     Helen Goodwin         @helengoodwin.333

37      Layla Curtis                 @laylacurtis_artist

38     Nicky Hirst                  @nickyhirst63

39     Jamie Holman             @jamie_holman_studio/

40    Sarah Hardacre           @hardacre.sarah

41     Sarah Cooney              @cooney_sarah

42     Emma Bennett           @emma_bennett__

43     Vanessa Mitter           @vanessamitter

44     Grant Watson            @grant_watson_paintings/

45     Kate Boucher              @misskateboucher

46    Billy Bagihole               @Billybagilhole

47     Jane Pryor                     @jane_pryor_studio

48     Mark Beldan                @markbeldan

49    Louise Evans                 @LOUISEALISONEVANS

50    James Michael Cliff     @tuli_valo

51     Ben Walker                   @BENWALKERPAINTER

52    Daniel & Clara              @daniel_and_clara

53    Greg Rook                     @greg_rook

54    Zoe Francis Spowage  @zoefrancisspowage

55     Steph Fawbert              @stephfawbertartist

56    Lara Cobden                 @laracobden

57    Simon Keenleyside      @Simon_keenleyside

58    Will Turner                    @willturnerstudio

59    Broughton & Birnie     @brobirn

60   Robin Dixon                  @robindixon_painting

61     Mikey Cuddihy             @mikeycuddihy

62     Jane Gifford                  @janegifford1

63     Polly Townsend            @polly_townsend

64    Zoe Benbow                  @zoebenbow

65     Esen Kaya                       @esenkaya.art

66     Catherine Spilman       @catannedunlea

67     Eleanor Carter              @ELECARTER_ART

68     Georgie Wheeler          @G_wizz_wheeler

69     Henrietta Macphee      @etta_mac

70     Lucy Duke                     @lucydukeart

71      Ian  Seagrave                @ IANSEGRAVE

72      Andrew Ekins               @Andrewekins

73      Bess Harding                @bessharding

74     Sophie Harding             @harding_sophie

75     Paula MacArthur           @paulamacarthur_

76     Pippa Gatty                    @pippagatty

77     Nick Davies                    @nickdaviesworks

78     Rob Hall                          @rob_hall_painter

79    Nicole  Rowntree          @nicolerowntree.studio

80    Evie Armstrong              @evangeline.armstrong

81     Rachel Lancaster           @rachel__lancaster

82    Narbi Price                      @NARBIPRICE

83    Ruth Philo                        @RUTHPHILO

84    Keith Ashcroft                @keithashcroft

85     Iain Andrews                  @iainandrewsart

86    Tom Musgrove                @tom_musgrove_

87     Henry Ward                     @henzward

88     Andee  Collard                @andeecollard

89    Jessica Voorsanger-Brill  @jessicavoorsanger

90    Mary Yacoob                     @mary_yacoob

91     Birungi  Kawooya             @birungiart

92     Xhi Ndubisi                      @anotherdiasporan       

93    Mary Griffiths                   @mary_griffiths__

94    Jason Rouse                      @sionrouse

95     Annie Cattrell                  @anniecattrell

96    Louise Cattrell                  @louisecattrell

97    Barbara Howey                @howey.barbara

98    Jacqueline Utley               @jacquelineutley

99    Callum Green                   @callum_green

100   Phoebe Mitchell              @phoebejmitchell

West Midlands Open

20 May – 25 September 2022, The New Art Gallery Walsall

The West Midlands Open exhibition is an opportunity to celebrate the quality and diversity of the visual arts in the region and will take place at The New Art Gallery Walsall, in our spacious Floor 3 galleries from 20 May – 25 September 2022.